Interview II

Posted: November 23, 2012 in Phase 3

For this interview I decided to step out of my comfort zone. I must admit, it was a little bit short due to the fact that the lady I interviewed just so happened to be a friend of my husbands grandma and she came to visit. I was lucky enough to be able to speak with her though.

This woman was a 3rd generation child of immigration which means not only did her grandparents suffer the treacherous difficulties of crossing the border (they, along with their 3 children, were deported in the  Operation wetback on the 1950’s. operation wetback was implemented in 1954 by the u.s government after u.s citizens were enraged by Mexican immigration.) Eventually, my husbands grandmas friend was able to meet a friend who was able to help her cross, her grandparents have passed on, but her mother still lives in Mexico. She has no idea about her father.

This woman told me that he’s happy to be a part of my project for school and she said she has a special message to any one who reads this, in her exact words, : “Be happy for the family you have. Anything could rip them apart.”

 

 

Comments
  1. Brandon Hackbarth says:

    Wait a second, this initiative was dubbed “Operation Wetback”? That is disgusting. Also, “Be happy for the family you have. Anything could rip them apart” is a good maxim. Your subject sounds like an honest person.

Leave a comment